Subscribe by Email

Your email:

Follow Me

Cognos Best Practices Blog

Current Articles | RSS Feed RSS Feed

4 Common Version Control Scenarios in Cognos Connection

 

MotioCI proactively versions all modifications in a Cognos environment.  This includes changes made in the authoring studios, changes made via Cognos Connection, and even changes to administration settings.  

Today we'll walk through some of the basic concepts of MotioCI version control by making a few changes to a sample Report in Cognos Connection.  

First, let's examine the history of the Actual vs. Target Sales Report in MotioCI's  Revision History screen.  This screen provides us a complete history of the object, showing us each time its been modified, by whom, and allowing us to view the changes which were applied. 

Revision History MotioCI

We can see from the screenshot above, that there are 7 revisions of the Actual vs. Target Sales Report.   Each time a user changes this object in Cognos Connection or Report Studio, a new revision will appear in MotioCI.  

Here is an explanation of each of the columns above :  

     Type - the type of revision, e.g. modified, added, deleted or reverted
     Rev - revision number
     Client Ver. - a client editable version number
     Major - a flag for tracking "major" vs. "minor" revisions
     Date - the exact date and time revision occurred
     Author - who made the change
     Comment - information about what changed in the revision
     Labels - indicates what label the revision belongs to
     Actions - available actions for the revision (revert, promote, view, run, etc)

 

Now that we've covered the basics of revision history, let's look at how MotioCI proactively versions changes to our example Report in these four common scenarios :

1. A Property change through Cognos Connection (e.g. name, screentip, etc)

2. A Permissions change through Cognos Connection

3. A Deletion in Cognos Connection

4. An Edit in Report Studio 


Property changes

A property change refers to altering a Cognos report's properties such as, the language, owner, screen tip, etc.   This type of change typically occurs from within Cognos Connection, by clicking on the properties icon, which will bring up the following page:  

Cognos object properties

 

Suppose in this example, Adam modifies the Screen tip property of our sample Report:

Modify the screen tip on a Cognos report.

 

As soon as Adam clicks "OK" the property changes will be saved to Cognos.   MotioCI will immediately notice this event, and will create a new revision to capture the changes.   MotioCI inspects the differences between the previous revision and the new revision, and automatically adds the comment of "Changed Properties".   It also captures the fact that Adam instigated this change.

Changed property captured in Revision History

 

Permissions Change

Modifying an object's permissions is another common scenario in Cognos Connection.  In the same property editor page from our previous example,  Adam now clicks on the Permissions tab.

Cognos report permissions screen

 

Adam then proceeds to make changes to the permissions for our sample report.

Modify report permissions in Cognos

 

Again, as soon as Adam clicks "OK" his permissions changes are saved to Cognos.  MotioCI immediately notices the change to the permissions and creates a revision.  The comment of "Changed Properties" is automatically added and Adam is referenced as the author who made the change.     

Permissions change Revision History

Using MotioCI's "diff" action to compare revision 10 to revision 11 will provide a detailed comparison of the "before" and "after" permissions. 

Content Deletion

Another important version control scenario in Cognos Connection is capturing the act of content deletion.   In keeping with our previous example, suppose Adam checks the checkbox for Actual vs. Target Sales, then clicks the delete button (upper right). 

Delete a Cognos Object

 

Normally, when you delete an object in Cognos Connection it is gone forever.

Cognos report deleted

 

With MotioCI's Active Versioning you have the comfort of knowing that just because the report was deleted in Cognos Connection does not mean it has been lost forever. Just like any other modification to an object, a deletion is versioned by MotioCI.

Revision History of a deleted Cognos report.

Notice that all the other revisions for this Cognos report are still accessible.  If you wish to undo the deletion operation you can simply highlight a previous revision and click the "revert" button (this puts the revision back into Cognos). 

Edits in Report Studio

Perhaps the most common scenario for editing Report objects is from within Report Studio. For the details on how MotioCI versions studio edits, please see our previous entry on Version Control in Cognos Report Studio

Summary

As you can see, MotioCI provides 360 degree coverage when it comes to versioning Congnos content.  In today's example, we examined four common scenarios for editing a Report in Cognos Connection. MotioCI's Active Versioning provides a convenient and effective way of tracking all changes that occur in a Cognos environment.  With MotioCI monitoring your Cognos environments, you'll always know who made a change, when they made it and what they changed.

Comments

Hi Dan, 
 
this is a great blog entry. Congrats. 
 
Here's a question for you:  
 
Does MotioCI also capture information about changes on User Groups/Roles? I.e. Is it possible to find out who has added or removed a user from a given group?  
 
Thanks in advance.
Posted @ Tuesday, July 16, 2013 11:23 AM by Matheus Oliveira
Post Comment
Name
 *
Email
 *
Website (optional)
Comment
 *

Allowed tags: <a> link, <b> bold, <i> italics